Wu Kai Sha International Kindergarten is an authorised IB World School and offers the ‘Primary Years Programme’ (PYP). This programme offers our school a philosophy and curriculum framework which aims to combine the best research and practice from around the world with the wealth of knowledge and experience in international schools.

  •  K1 programme of Inquiry 2016-17
  •  K2 Programme of Inquiry


The Primary Years Programme is designed for students between the ages of 3 and 12 years. It is an international, transdisciplinary programme designed to foster the development of the whole child, not just in the classroom but also through other means of learning. The PYP focuses on the total growth of the developing child encompassing social, physical, emotional and cultural needs in addition to academic welfare.

IB World Schools share a common philosophy —a commitment to high-quality, challenging, international education—that we believe is important for our students.

For further information about the IB and its programmes, visit

  •  PYP Essential Elements overview
Inquiry Based Curriculum

We follow an inquiry based curriculum where children learn through exploration, hands-on experiences and playful learning experiences.  Children are encouraged and motivated to learn through discovery, real-life experiences experimentation and reflection.  They will work individually, in small groups and in whole class groups. Learning is organised under four transdisciplinary units of inquiry over the year and subject knowledge and skills are taught within or alongside the units of inquiry.   The curriculum encourages children to acquisition of key skills and attitudes in order to develop the ability to become a life-long learner.  The curriculum is differentiated in order that each child is considered individually in their learning as they may be at a different stage in their understanding and development to their peers.

The curriculum takes a ‘whole child’ view and all aspects of learning and development are given equal emphasis. The subject areas are

  • Languages – English language and literacy. Chinese as an additional language
  • Social studies – early geography and history skills
  • Mathematics
  • Arts – music, dance and visual arts
  • Science – early science and technology skills
  • Personal, Social and Physical Education

Each of these curriculum areas is taught through a unit of inquiry.

The Written Curriculum

Children’s learning is arranged around a number of units of inquiry. We will cover four of the following units in the course of a year.

Who we are
Where we are in place and time
How we express ourselves
How the world works
How we organise ourselves
Sharing the planet

A unit of inquiry is a block of learning based around one of these areas. Each unit of inquiry consists of a Central Idea – this is a big idea or concept. The whole unit of work aims to help the children understand this concept in depth.


Assessment is an important part of planning for children’s ongoing learning.  Children’s knowledge, skills and understanding in both subject areas such as language and maths, and within the units of inquiry will be assessed and reported on. Teachers use a broad range of assessment strategies before, during and at the end of a learning cycle to assess how well the children have understood main ideas and how well their skills have developed in each area. Standarised assessments, conversations, children’s drawings, and observations of their play and actions are all used to gather information.  Teachers share information about children’s learning and progress through written reports, parent teacher meetings, shared learning days, class learning journeys and an individual portfolio.More about PYP
To find out more about PYP, please feel free to join one of our school tours, parent workshops or visit the IBO website